The Davis Cup

View more down arrowCross 'Close' Icon

Kooyong has proved a happy hunting ground for Australian Davis Cup teams.

Between 1946 and 2006, Australia staged ten Davis Cup contests in this world famous stadium. All but the 1946 Challenge Round went the home team’s way.

Our players were defeated 5-0 by the Americans Jack Kramer and Ted Schroeder. No Davis Cup tennis had been played in Australia for more than a quarter of a century and despite the one sided scores, the excitement was intense.
Challenge Round. Australia trailed USA by 1-2 after the doubles, but was saved by Sydney teenagers Lew Hoad and Ken Rosewell, who then beat Tony Trabert and Vic Seixas respectively.
Challenge Round. Ashley Cooper and Mal Anderson in singles, and Anderson and Mervyn Rose in doubles, scored a 3-2 victory over the USA.
Challenge Round. Roy Emerson and Rod Laver in singles, and Emerson and Neale Fraser in doubles, beat Italy 5-0.
Challenge Round. In a 4-1 triumph, Roy Emerson and Fred Stolle were too strong for India in singles, but John Newcombe and Tony Roche were upset in doubles.
Inter-Zone Final. A ‘Dad's Army' that included the ageing Rod Laver, John Newcombe and Ken Rosewell overcame Czechoslavakia 4-1.
Final. The relatively low-ranked Pat Cash, John Fitzgerald, Mark Edmondson and Paul McNamee capped a year of gallant efforts by beating Sweden, led by Mats Wilander, 3-2.
Final. In singles, Pat Cash defeated Stefan Edberg and Mikael Pernfors (after trailing by two sets to love) to set up a 3-2 triumph for Australia.
First Round. Against the old foe, USA, Wally Masur and Mark Woodforde won the first-day singles, then Woodforde and Todd Woodbridge clinched victory in doubles.
Second Round. Lleyton Hewitt, Chris Guccione, Wayne Arthurs and Paul Hanley defeat Belarus 5-0 in the first tie played at Kooyong on rebound ace.
Kooyong hosts Davis Cup Challenge Round on temporary grass. USA defeats Australia 3-1.
Kooyong hosts Davis Cup Challenge Round on Plexicushion. Australia defeats Czech Republic 4-1.
We respectfully acknowledge the traditional owners of the land on which Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club stands today the Wurundjeri People of the Kulin Nation and pay respect to Elders past, present and emerging.
Cross 'Close' Icon
Cross 'Close' Icon