John Laidlaw Award winners

Facebook IconInstagram IconTwitter Icon
Courtside Magazine

The John Laidlaw Award is awarded annually to two young people who have excelled as scholarship players and made significant contribution to the Club activities at Kooyong.

The award is in recognition of John, one of the Kooyong Foundation’s major and most generous donors.

Congratulations to our 2023 John Laidlaw Award winners, Ava Beck and Archie Stewart.

Ava Beck, 15 years old, was a winner of 2 ITF junior singles titles and 2 ITF junior doubles titles in Adelaide and Fiji.

Winner of the under 21 Junior Girls Club Championships of Kooyong, a member of the winning State Grade Pennant team for KLTC and also represented the Club in Premier League.

Beck, a warrior on the court with a never say die attitude, was consistently involved in Club activities throughout 2023.

Archie Stewart, 15 years old, was runner up in the Under 21 Boys Club Championships of Kooyong, made the Semi Final and Final of doubles at junior ITF’s, was a member of the Grade 2 Pennant runners up team.

Archie also represented New Zealand in Junior Davis Cup in Kazakhstan.

Archie was a fine representative of KLTC/Kooyong Foundation throughout the year.

Well done to both players as we watch them grow on and off the court!

We respectfully acknowledge the traditional owners of the land on which Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club stands today the Wurundjeri People of the Kulin Nation and pay respect to Elders past, present and emerging.
Cross 'Close' Icon
Cross 'Close' Icon